The Big Easy: one more checked off my bucket list!!

The big easy,oh how I had longed to experience Mardi Gras.Finally a couple very good friends and I decided to take a quick trip to Nola. To my luck it ended up being on my 43ed Birthday and was I ever excited.
We flew out of Detroit cold as could be and when we arrived in New Orleans it had to be 70 degreess and oh how that sunshine felt on my body. Winter blues had beaten all three of us down, we were all going through some major life crisis,so this was exactly what we all needed. We got the rental car and headed to the motel and on our way the weather changed so quickly we found ourselves in a tornado warning and the rain was coming down. The wind was blowing at least 20 miles an hour,we were disappointed as we were trying  to escape the crappy weather from our home state Michigan.
We decided to stop at Walmart to get something to drink and look at souvenirs. while we were in the checkout, a African American couple behind us were bickering and the next thing  I know I am being shoved by a grocery cart as the lady says “see what you made me do” .. I was shocked as I had overheard their whole conversation and she was reaming him out because he was checking me out and it just continued to escalate. I just wanted to hurry up and get out of there as this was our first encounter with locals and it made me very nervous.
As we walk out of the store I tell my girls “OMG everywhere I go I get in trouble”,then I explained what they were bickering about and we all laughed and headed to the hotel .
When we arrived at the Hotel my friend was trying to PArk under the carport but there were some guys parked there and she cussed them out for not moving up. We went up to our room and as we’re

getting

image

image

image

image

image

image

ready to head to the French quarter we smell a strong oder we are very familiar with, oh yeah MARY JANE….ahh..we were stoked since we couldn’t bring anything on the plane.
My friend went up to the guy and asked if he had an extra doobie that it was my birthday and we were hoping to find some. The guy was awesome and he gave us a bud and said Happy Birthday!! How lucky was that ,the weather wasn’t cooperating,but not even an hour in Nola and we had some weed.Hell yeah,Happy Birthday to me!!!

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

